WPT India ends with Siddarth Singhvi winning Megastack Event

Posted On 20 Nov, 2018 0

The much-awaited World Poker Tour (WPT) India edition has now come and gone, with a week of action-packed poker taking place on board the Deltin Royale in Goa. Over the course of 7 days, we had 8 events taking place, with 3 tournaments yet to conclude on the final day, including the 100k Highroller (won by Kalyan Chakravarthy) and the 55k Main Event (won by Nikunj Jhunjhunwala).

Another single-day tournament which kicked off on the final day yesterday, was the INR 20k Megastack Turbo NLH. The Turbo Event saw each player receiving a starting stack of 30,000 and most of those who busted from the Main Event and Highroller were found in action here. Being a turbo event, levels were of 15 minutes each only and late registration shut by Level 9.

Rahul Melwani, who also recently won an edition of the Gayle Storm, won this event last year for INR 4,20,000, beating a field of 111 entries. However, the second edition of WPT India was a much bigger one and here, we saw a bigger field and bigger prize pool, wherein Siddarth Singhvi emerged victorious, taking home INR 5,71,000.

Once the calculations were made, it was announced that the top 13 players would make the money with a min-cash of INR 46,780. Zarvan Tumboli was the first to receive a cash prize, busting in 13th place, while another popular payer Rubin Labroo cashed in 10th place for INR 51,500 before the official 9-handed was set.

From the total field of 99 entries, the final nine had to battle it out for a WPT title. However, only one could emerge victorious on the night and that player was Siddarth Singhvi, who won his maiden WPT title along with the top prize of INR 5.71 lakh. In the build up to this event in Goa, he has been bagging regular victories in online poker and building his bankroll.

Last night, he was up against Anant Purohit in heads-up and this session didn't even last for 5 hands. In the final hand, it was Purohit who shoved all-in pre-flop with Kx 4x and the board didn't help him against Singhvi's Ad 9c, who flopped a pair of nines. Singhvi was declared winner and Purohit had to settle for INR 3,51,000 for finishing second.

Final Table Results:

  1. Siddarth Singhvi - INR 5,71,000
  2. Anant Purohit - INR 3,51,000
  3. Tathagata Sengupta - INR 2,15,000
  4. Nitin Gupta - INR 1,40,400
  5. Ankit Takle - INR 1,10,000
  6. Vinay Rajpal - INR 87,500
  7. Shashank Jain -INR 74,500
  8. Siddharth Mishra - 64,500
  9. Himanshu Arora - INR 57,100

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more updates on India's biggest poker tournaments, both online and live.

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can check out their review page before joining their platform, and could soon become the next winner of any of their top tournaments. You can also sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: Deltin Poker Tournament


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000