Rubin Labroo wins Purple Poker's Freedom Blast Event

Posted On 17 Aug, 2018 0

India recently celebrated its 72nd Independence Day and all of the top poker companies hosted big tournaments for their loyal players. While most of these companies hosted big online tournaments, Purple Poker decided to host a live tournament for their players in and around Bangalore.

The Freedom Blast Tournament was scheduled for Independence Day, 15th August 2018, at the Champs of Aces Poker Club, Koramangala in Bangalore. A hefty INR 10 lakh GTD prize pool was waiting to be won, and players flocked to the venue to be among the top pay-outs.

A total of 81 entries with 40 re-entries registered to the live tournament which had a buy-in of INR 7,700. The top 19 players were paid out in the tournament, with popular poker player Rubin Labroo taking home the trophy and a hefty pay-check of INR 2,15,000 for first place.

Labroo is a regular poker player, both in the live and online circuit, having won many online titles in the past. He won the Elite PLO High Roller in The Spartan Poker's Quickie Series in February this year, while also winning the PPL Main Event in June, registering his biggest online poker win.

Online satellites were held on in the build-up to this Independence Day tournament, and the 19 players will be paid out through their online accounts itself. With the success of this tournament in Bangalore, there are talks of the company hosting another live tournament in Kolkata next month. For those who want to be a part of the action on Purple Poker, click here and sign up using the code “GUTSHOT”.

"I had come to Bangalore to meet some friends. Last minute, I decided to play the Freedom Blast Event, and won it. It was a great and well-managed tournament. Thanks to Purple Poker for organising such an event," said the Delhi-based Labroo, when asked about his tournament experience.

Top three pay-outs:

  1. Rubin Labroo - INR 2,15,000
  2. Lokesh - INR 1,55,000
  3. Gaja Acchu - INR 1,30,000 brings to you the latest updates from the biggest online and live poker tournaments from across India and around the world. Stay tuned for more!

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000