Madhav Gupta takes down 20k Mega Stack at WPT India

Posted On 22 Oct, 2019 0

Last year, the 2018 WPT India series came to an end with the INR 20k Mega Stack Event, which was taken down by Siddarth Singhvi, beating a field of 99 entries. This time too, the tournament was saved for the last, but WPT only managed a field of 88 entries, lower than last year as most of the tournaments this season.

Singhvi was in the field but he couldn't go on to defend his title or even finish among the top 11 players who got paid in the event. It all came to an end in Level 25 when the blinds were running 40k-80k along with a Big Blind Ante of 80k. Here, it was Madhav Gupta, more popularly known as 'Maddy' in the poker industry, who went on to become the Mega Stack champion!

The tournament saw quick bustouts as it approached the bubble and once the payouts began, Sanchit Pande and Kiran Kumar hit the rail before the final table began. There were some known names on the FT too, including recent BPT Bounty Event champion Gokul Krishna (7th), Maria Kirloskar (6th), and DPT Xpress Main Event winner Ankit Jajodia (4th).

After Somashekhar fell out of contention in third place, it was Maddy against Amit Dhall in heads-up. In the final hand, Dhall completed the blind and moved all-in on the 10h 3s Ks flop for the rest of his 700k. Maddy called and revealed 10s 3c having flopped two pairs against Dhall's pocket Sevens. The 4th and 5th streets opened Jx and 3x, improving Maddy to a full house and giving him his first WPT title along with a cash prize of INR 5,33,990. As for Dhall, he had to settle for the runner-up prize of INR 3,22,880.

Final Table Results:

  1. Madhav Gupta - INR 5,33,990
  2. Amit Dhall - INR 3,22,880
  3. Somashekhar KM - INR 2,00,700
  4. Ankit Jajodia - INR 1,35,800
  5. Saurabh Arora - INR 1,03,500
  6. Maria Kirloskar - INR 82,800
  7. Gokul Krishna - INR 68,710
  8. Naveen Sagar - INR 57,950
  9. Samit Mehta - INR 53,400

For more updates from the WPT India and other poker tournaments from across the world, stay tuned to

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can check out their review page before joining their platform, and could soon become the next winner of any of their top tournaments. You can also sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: OnlinePokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000