Ashish Ahuja ships Big Ten on Spartan

Posted On 11 Feb, 2019 0

A typical Sunday on The Spartan Poker is a high-stakes affair with plenty of pros and big talents from the community in contention. Since Sunday is a day-off for most of the players, they get time to indulge in their favourite game and hopefully win something big too.

Yesterday, Spartan hosted Big Ten INR 10 Lakhs GTD for a buy-in of INR 2,200 on its platform. This is a new tournament which saw its first run yesterday. The tournament attracted a good turnout of 483 entries (including 54 re-entries and 166 re-buys). Top 45 places were paid for a min-cash of INR 5,500.

The player to ship this inaugural Big Ten was well-known regular and one of the top talents in the community, Ashish Ahuja aka ‘Spewushhhiiiii’, taking home INR 1.9 Lakhs as 1st place cash prize. He beat Shawn Chatterton aka ‘Ch0pUrNutZZ’ in heads-up to secure his 1st place.

The final hand of the tournament happened roughly 6 hours since it began on Spartan. The tournament had begun at 6 pm and ended at 11.59 pm yesterday. Ahuja was already with an overwhelming chip lead of over 18:1. He went all-in pre-flop with Ah Td. He received a call from Chatterton, who had Jc 9c. The board came to 3c Ad Ks Kh 2s and Ahuja hit Aces and Kings beating his opponent’s Kings pair. The runner-up eventually had to settle for INR 1,37,500 as 2nd place cash prize.

Ahuja, someone who’s very well established in the community, has bagged a lot of title wins and deep runs in the past. December 2018 saw him win Spartan’s signature 2.o.K too, having won Spartan’s Triple Bubble a few days prior. He also bagged the BSS SuperStack title in November last year for INR 2.7 Lakhs. This Big Ten win will surely see him convert it into bigger cashes in the future, and given his skills, it’s not at all impossible for him.

Some other pros in the mix to ensure tough competition were Ankit Wadhawan (5th – INR 60k), October 2018 Millionaire winner Abhishek Jaiswal (9th – INR 22k), Anirban Das (10th – INR 17k), Srihari Bang (17th – INR 11k), Gaurav Sood (22nd – INR 8.5k), IOPC SHR runner-up Pulkit Goyal (24th – INR 8.5k), Rajat Mahajan (34th – INR 6k) and Arjanveer Chadha (43rd – INR 5.5k).

Keep reading for more similar tournament results, roundups and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on The Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000